Their Kidnapped Bride (Bridgewater Ménage #1) by Vanessa Vale – Book Review


their_kidnapped_bride_web

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

An easy, quick read, Their Kidnapped Bride is the first book in Vanessa Vale‘s Bridgewater Ménage series.  I thought it was pretty good if you can handle overly dominate males.  Maybe it makes be unconventional or just a straight out freak, but stories that have more than one guy with a single chick….HOT DAMN!

The main thing I liked about this book was how it got right into the meat of the story.  It starts with Emma’s asshole brother selling her to a brothel.  Most books spend the first half trying to set the scene for the main event but this one was quick to get to the point.  I will say that something about the part of the story when it flashes back to her memory of watching her brother with the housemaid made me uneasy.  Couldn’t honestly grasp why but geez, come on now?  Can guys not keep it in their pants?  Even married ones??  Seems like there is no hope left for love these days.

“[His wife] had no grounds to protest or complain about a husband’s peccadillo.  A wife was completely at the mercy of her husband.”

I was reeling at that those lines!  On any other day I’m sure that I wouldn’t have thought much on it, it’s just an imaginative story anyway.  But after my post “….cause I’m a BITCH the other day, I’ve had a lot of epiphanies popping into my mind in regards to society’s take on men being superior to women.  I think that was the hardest part for me to swallow of this book.  The demands that Ian and Kane make of Emma, despite their ‘cherishing her’, felt too demeaning of the female character.

But other than my overly feminist thoughts, I would totally give the others in this series a shot.  Here are the books in the Bridgewater Ménage series:

#1 – Their Kidnapped Bride
#2 – Their Wayward Bride
#3 – Their Captivated Bride
#4 – Their Treasured Bride
#5 – Their Christmas Bride (Novella)
#6 – Their Reluctant Bride

Check out Vanessa’s website HERE or find her on
Facebook or
Twitter

Wha'cha wanna say??

