Talon (Uncompromising #1) by Sybil Bartel – Book Review


talon

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

Ugh!  This book took me over a month to finish reading!  It’s not that the writing was bad, I actually believe it was extremely well written.  It was just missing that something that usually sparks that ‘Must Read’ mentality in me which makes me sad.  😦

Talon is the first book in the Uncompromising series by Sybil Bartel.  I had never heard about the author until I came across the super hot book cover on NetGalley.  Total man candy!  Being a lover of erotica and romance books, the description of the book sounded intriguing and dramatic enough to spark my interest.  This is the synopsis from NetGalley:

I surf.
I fuck.
I pretend to smile.

Two years ago my life was perfect, until it wasn’t. I scattered my wife’s ashes then walked away from the Marines. I didn’t think I had anything else to lose.

I was wrong.

The blond showed up at my surf shop, beaten and stabbed. I did what I was trained to do—I stitched her up. I didn’t have a clue who she was and I told myself I didn’t care. Until they came looking for her.

I swore I’d take my last breath before I let anyone else hurt her except I didn’t know she was keeping a deadly secret. Now I had two choices, her life or mine.

Marriage and combat taught me the same thing—I was no one’s hero. And I was about to prove it.

Sounds super good right?  I had really high hopes for this book but I honestly just couldn’t get into like I wanted to, and believe me….I TRIED!!  I think the main thing that just didn’t work for me was the fact that it was written in first person.  I should have guessed that it would be given the description, but it had been so long since I’d read a first person book that I had forgotten how much I disliked them.  First person always tends to make the book feel as if it’s dragging on and on because you’re in a single persons mind 24/7.  I can barely stand being trapped in my own mind day in and day out, let alone a story book characters!

The second thing that just didn’t work for me was the personalities of the two main characters.  The female’s self pity and hatefulness towards herself was just too much and I kinda wished something would happen in the book that would lead to her untimely death. Damn…I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a heroine to actually die in any book that I’ve read, but this chick was pissing be off with all the depression!  Yes…life sucks sometimes and we get stuck in shitty ass situations, but damn!  You really can’t find SOMETHING TO BE POSITIVE ABOUT?!??  Then there was Talon’s asshole self.  He was selfish, controlling, and just a prick to everyone.  It didn’t matter if they asked him a simple kind-hearted question, he was always an asshole with how he responded to them.  He’s the type of dude I could imagine kicking a puppy, the asshole!  He’s a cocky asshole, while she’s a depressed train wreak.  Their relationship is probably the worst possible idea ever.

I hate saying negative things about books because I know how much time and energy goes into writing them.  Just because it wasn’t really a book for me, I think it was decent enough to tell others to give it a shot.  I say this because while I didn’t care for the lead characters in this book, I’m about 85% sure that I will definitely end up reading the next in the series.  I really liked some of the other characters that made appearances and want to know what is going to happen to them!  I just hope I can get past the first person thing.

Here are the stories planned so far for the Uncompromising series:

#1 – Talon
#2 – Neil – expected release September 1st, 2016
#3 – Andre – expected release March 1st, 2017
#4 – Roark – expected release September 1st, 2017

Check out Sybil’s website HERE or find her on
Facebook or
Twitter

Wha'cha wanna say??

