The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides #1) by Jennifer Ashley – Book Review


Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Oooooo lordy this book was gooooooood!

I have to say that I have found the next series I plan to devour, so thank you Jennifer Ashley for writing The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie, first book in The Mackenzies and Mcbrides series!  Check out the except from Goodreads:

The year is 1881. Meet the Mackenzie family–rich, powerful, dangerous, eccentric. A lady couldn’t be seen with them without ruin. Rumors surround them–of tragic violence, of their mistresses, of their dark appetites, of scandals that set England and Scotland abuzz.

The youngest brother, Ian, known as the Mad Mackenzie, spent most of his young life in an asylum, and everyone agrees he is decidedly odd. He’s also hard and handsome and has a penchant for Ming pottery and beautiful women.

Beth Ackerley, widow, has recently come into a fortune. She has decided that she wants no more drama in her life. She was raised in drama–an alcoholic father who drove them into the workhouse, a frail mother she had to nurse until her death, a fussy old lady she became constant companion to. No, she wants to take her money and find peace, to travel, to learn art, to sit back and fondly remember her brief but happy marriage to her late husband.

And then Ian Mackenzie decides he wants her.

The first of a new historical series.

And here is the lil one from her website:

It was whispered all through London Society that Ian Mackenzie was mad, that he’d spent his youth in an asylum, and was not to be trusted-especially with a lady. Yet Beth found herself inexorably drawn to the Scottish lord. Despite his decadence and his intimidating intelligence, she could see that he needed help- her help.

Because suddenly the only thing that made sense to her was … the madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie.

The description of the book drew me in super quick when I happened to be browsing my library’s ebook collect online.  I’ve been looking for a new set of books to start since I got caught up on the Clans of Kalquor series by Tracy St. John and was super executed to see that they had all of the books in The Mackenzies and Mcbrides series!  Honestly though, after reading this first story and absolutely LOVING it, I plan on buying these books and totally telling my mom about them.  She loves reading romances just like I do and we randomly ask every now and again if the other has read a specific book or anything by a particular author.   The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie is one such book I will totally be asking her about!

I loved how Ashley wrote the first book of the set with a hero that was far from perfect.  Writing an amazing story with one of the main characters having Asbergers Syndrome was absolutely brilliant on her part!  It goes to show that no matter what a persons ‘disability’, we’re all beautiful being who deserve our own love story.  I was absolutely intrigued with Ian’s character with all of his eccentrics.  And the fact that Beth looked past what society focused on in regards to on the outside of Ian, and was able to see someone who was lovable and kind, made her become one of my favorite book heroines ever!  I love characters who have a natural humility towards other people.

In this book you get to see how Ian struggles with the syndrome, as everyone who has it does, and how he tries to control some of the side effects of it because, while he doesn’t know it in the beginning, he’s falling in love with Beth.  Damn I love me a good love story!!

You guys have gotta read this book!  I plan on starting Isabella and Mac’s book once I get done posting this review!!

Given that I’ve only read the first book in the series so far, I’m going to list the publication order listed on Ashley’s website instead of the chronological order.  Typically I would prefer the chronological order after reading all of the books, but when I first start reading a series I like to read them in the order that they were released, as if I were getting the brand new books as they originally came out to the public!  Here it is:

#1 – The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #1)
#2 – Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #2)
#3 – The Many Sins of Lord Cameron (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #3)
#4 – The Duke’s Perfect Wife (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #4)
#5 – A Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect Gift (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #4.5)
#6 – The Seduction of Elliot McBride (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #5)
#7 – The Untamed Mackenzie (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #5.5)
#8 – The Wicked Deeds of Daniel Mackenzie (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #6)
#9 – Scandal and the Duchess (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #6.5)
#10 – Rules for a Proper Governess (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #7)
#11 – A Mackenzie Clan Gathering (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #8.5)
#12 – The Stolen Mackenzie Bride (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #8)
#13 – Alec Machenzie’s Art of Seduction (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #9) – expected release June 2016
#14 – The Devilish Lord Will (The Mackenzies and Mcbrides #10) – expected release November 2016

Check out Jennifer’s website HERE or find her on
Facebook or


Wha'cha wanna say??

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s